Sony FE35 f1.8 rattles when not attached to the body

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
yogi4fitness
yogi4fitness Regular Member • Posts: 101
Sony FE35 f1.8 rattles when not attached to the body

Just got a FE35 f1.8 from BHPhoto. It works great except when not attached to the body there is movement on the inside assembly when I turn the lens upside down just from gravity. I never noticed it in any of the older lenses I have. I can clearly see the whole inner assembly slide in the body when it turn it upside down. Is that normal or is something broken in the lens? I can still return it to BHP.

Sorry if this has already been answered. I am a noob and really worried that something is broken in the lens assembly.

TIA

Yogi.

alma175w Forum Member • Posts: 95
Re: Sony FE35 f1.8 rattles when not attached to the body

This is the linear drive motor - unsettling as you’ve discovered but totally normal.  Once connected to the body it is powered up and doesn’t move freely. The 20G is the same.

alma175w's gear list:alma175w's gear list
Sony a7 III Sony a7R III Sony a7R IV Sony FE 24-105mm F4 Sony FE 16-35mm F2.8 +6 more
vivaldibow Contributing Member • Posts: 845

Totally normal, as stated by other people. When I got my first Sigma 16mm lens, I had the same concern. Frankly I think there should be a better solution in lens design: having something rattling in a lens house could potentially cause some mechanical issue (the optical issue). Just my 2c.

yogi4fitness
OP yogi4fitness Regular Member • Posts: 101

Totally agree that there needs to be a better approach. I hike frequently on rough terrain and have fallen with my camera a few times. The camera is on my chest in a harness so it doesn't really hit anything but does get jolted every now and then and having something that can move might cause some misalignment. I would like to have everything solid in place.

SQLGuy
SQLGuy Forum Pro • Posts: 10,116

vivaldibow wrote: