Capture one 21 - upgrade or subscription

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
Clive99 Contributing Member • Posts: 989
Capture one 21 - upgrade or subscription

I've been using capture one Fuji for a few years now. I really like it. Just went to the website to upgrade and noticed a few things:

• Upgrade price has increased pretty significantly
  • They now have versions for Sony, Fuji and Nikon - there's no longer a significant price discount for the Fuji version..it's pretty slight.
  • The upgrade price is now about 20% more than the subscription price. Given that Capture one seems to have a new release yearly, if you plan on consistently upgrading, that's not a very good deal.

My question is:  There are discounts on now - I see a discount on the subscription (perhaps) because I already have a license and for black friday - so it looks like a pretty good deal.  If I subscribe now, will it auto-renew in a year at the full price or does it auto-renew at the discounted price?? I have an innate distrust of auto-renew subscription software because most products seem to renew at the full/inflated price. Don't want to have to cancel each year just before renewal:)

Perhaps someone with a subscription could answer. Thanks!

Clive99's gear list:Clive99's gear list
Fujifilm XF10 Fujifilm X-E3 Fujifilm X-T3 Fujifilm XF 18mm F2 R Samyang 8mm F2.8 UMC Fisheye +16 more
jhorse Veteran Member • Posts: 4,508
Re: Capture one 21 - upgrade or subscription

Clive99 wrote:

I've been using capture one Fuji for a few years now. I really like it. Just went to the website to upgrade and noticed a few things:

• They now have versions for Sony, Fuji and Nikon - there's no longer a significant price discount for the Fuji version..it's pretty slight.
  • The upgrade price is now about 20% more than the subscription price. Given that Capture one seems to have a new release yearly, if you plan on consistently upgrading, that's not a very good deal.