Worth it to move to DXO/NIK from PSE/Google NIK?

Started 4 months ago | Questions
Flycaster
Flycaster Senior Member • Posts: 1,483
Worth it to move to DXO/NIK from PSE/Google NIK?

I am a photo hobbyist using Photoshop Elements (2020) and the original NIK Collection to edit images taken with my FZ1000. Although I'm happy with this combination I am thinking about taking advantage of the special DXO Photolab4 offer and have a couple of questions:

1. Compared to PSE, what's DXO's learning curve like? BTW, I don't do much "layer" work, although i can if i have to.

2. Will the Google NIK Collection work with DXO PL4, or do I also have to get DXO's NIK?

3. As a hobbyist, can I expect that much more than I already have if I purchase DXO/NIK? BTW, it is not the money, it's how much more will I gain in editing?

Thanks.

Flycaster's gear list:Flycaster's gear list
Canon PowerShot SD850 IS Olympus Tough TG-2 Panasonic FZ1000
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Panasonic FZ1000
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Kaj E Veteran Member • Posts: 9,817
Re: Worth it to move to DXO/NIK from PSE/Google NIK?

If you want to add capabilites install Elements+. Otherwise stay with your set up.

Adobe beats DxO.

-- hide signature --

Kind regards
Kaj
http://www.pbase.com/kaj_e
WSSA member #13
It's about time we started to take photography seriously and treat it as a hobby.- Elliott Erwitt

nor70 Regular Member • Posts: 248

Hi Flycaster, the answer to your second question is that the Google NIK Collection works with DXO PL4, well it has for me 😊

Regards

Flycaster
OP Flycaster Senior Member • Posts: 1,483

Kaj E wrote:

If you want to add capabilites install Elements+. Otherwise stay with your set up.

Adobe beats DxO.

Thanks. I already have Elements+, but tend not to use it too much. Care to describe where you feel Adobe beats DXO; but don't discuss layers as I don't use that capability too much.?

Flycaster