Olympus OM Zuiko 300mm f4.5 at 2 miles (3.2 Km)

Started 4 months ago | Questions
Bassam Guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,280
Olympus OM Zuiko 300mm f4.5 at 2 miles (3.2 Km)

After inspection and some testing, I purchased an ancient OM 300mm to quell my expensive lust for a long lens. After purchasing it, I bicycled to Rosslyn for some more serious test shots. Lacking a tripod, and unable to get focus peaking to work, focusing was rather troublesome.

Obviously, it was rather cloudy & hazy and there wasn't lot of light. Although f4.5 is baked into the EXIF, the lens was probably at f5.6, which I used for most in this set to test my new purchase.

I have no experience with any lens longer than 150mm (300 FF equivalent), and now I have doubled that.

Granted, this is underexposed but should I expect better?

Bassam Guy's gear list:Bassam Guy's gear list
Olympus E-M5 II Olympus E-M5 III Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 12mm 1:2 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 17mm F1.8 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 25mm F1.8 +5 more
ANSWER:
victorav Senior Member • Posts: 1,035
Re: Olympus OM Zuiko 300mm f4.5 at 2 miles (3.2 Km)

Bassam Guy wrote:

After inspection and some testing, I purchased an ancient OM 300mm to quell my expensive lust for a long lens. After purchasing it, I bicycled to Rosslyn for some more serious test shots. Lacking a tripod, and unable to get focus peaking to work, focusing was rather troublesome.

Obviously, it was rather cloudy & hazy and there wasn't lot of light. Although f4.5 is baked into the EXIF, the lens was probably at f5.6, which I used for most in this set to test my new purchase.

I have no experience with any lens longer than 150mm (300 FF equivalent), and now I have doubled that.

Cool shot, yes it is a bit dark.

How much was the lens may I ask. I'm thinking a vintage telephoto prime might be cost effective way to start trying  out telephoto shots.

The Grumpy Snapper Regular Member • Posts: 475