USA camera insurance

Started 10 months ago | Discussions
Ex Barista
Ex Barista Junior Member • Posts: 42
USA camera insurance

Hi guys I’m an amateur shooter with some nice gear. I want to get coverage for my stuff.

I talked with my current renters insurance company and they’d want me to get an 3rd party appraisal for my equipment (z7 plus 4 lens). That seems like more work then I expected. 
I’m looking for coverage for theft as well as equipment breakage due to drops, water, etc.

I’ve looked in the forums but couldn’t find what I’m looking for.

Can you guys recommend any USA camera insurance companies for an amateur photographer.  Thanks.

Frank

Ex Barista's gear list:Ex Barista's gear list
Nikon Z7 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm F4G ED VR Nikon AF-S Teleconverter TC-14E III Nikkor AF-S 300mm f/4E PF ED VR Nikon Z 24-70mm F4
masonr Junior Member • Posts: 49
Re: USA camera insurance

I have a separate photo insurance ('personal articles") with State Farm, where I also have house and car insurance.  They don't require an assessment unless you have a claim.  I have receipts going back 40 years, and for a claim (I got robbed some years back) I had the receipts, as well as current internet prices for some items.  They were very good at covering the stolen items.

DenverSteve Contributing Member • Posts: 693

I would recommend looking at other contents/renter's insurance companies.  I would expect a top-tier (American Family, Allstate, State Farm...) company to insure your equipment with a verified schedule up to a specific dollar amount or offer a rider for a nominal cost to add that to your current policy.  Read your policy coverage carefully about coverage for household items that are removed from the home.  If they won't/can't cover it, change companies.

DenverSteve's gear list:DenverSteve's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V Sony RX10 IV Sony a7R II Sony a6500 Sony a7R IV +8 more
ken_in_nh Senior Member • Posts: 1,735

+1