Lighter Gear for BIF?

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
fairfaxian Regular Member • Posts: 294
Lighter Gear for BIF?

Is there any relatively light/compact option for capturing wildlife & occasional BIF that is light/compact? My gear is heavy, & I will either bring pro tripod or Monopod. But my GF is a runner that loves birds, is a great spotter, but doesn't want to carry heavy gear. She has a pocket Lumix with a fairly long lens, but of course the fingernail size sensor images are soft, and noisy in low light. I know that every rig is a compromise. Just wondering if anyone has had success with compacts.

I once tried the Sony RX 10-IV which is the best option I can think of. But that would be too big for a petite runner with a shoulder injury. I have a pocket Lumix with 1" sensor, that I've won prizes with . But it's useless for BIF or small, distant subjects. I started shooting BIF with a Real & 400mm prime. But again that's too heavy for her.

I can't imagine anything that would give produce decent results of distant birds/BIF that is compact. Suggestions?

Geekapoo
Geekapoo Senior Member • Posts: 2,437
Re: Lighter Gear for BIF?

For BIF you need reach AND good AF-C. The Sony RX10 IV is your best option (sorry) and think a compact camera would only = much frustration.

Geekapoo's gear list:Geekapoo's gear list
Sony RX100 Fujifilm XF 16mm F1.4 R WR Sony RX10 IV Fujifilm X-T20 Fujifilm X-T3 +13 more
drj3 Forum Pro • Posts: 10,836

You could check out the Olympus E-M5 MkIII, with the 75-300mm f4.8-6.7 (150-600 mm FF equivalent FOV) lens it is about 250 grams lighter than the Sony RX10 IV.  The MKIII added PDAF so it is okay for BIFs.  Of course that would require changing lenses for anything other than telephoto photography.

-- hide signature --

drj3

drj3's gear list:drj3's gear list
Olympus E-510 Olympus E-5 Olympus E-M1 Olympus OM-D E-M10 Olympus E-M1 II +9 more
Jack Tingle Regular Member • Posts: 245