How do you do that Spotlight/Light Beam effect

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
amlbenilde New Member • Posts: 5
How do you do that Spotlight/Light Beam effect

I have recently been into studio photography for almost two years now. I gotta admit, I'm still fairly new to the game of studio photography compared to the more experienced photographers in the field. So please do forgive me if this sounds too beginner

I wanted to achieve this kind of lighting on my next portrait. It boggles me how these photographers achieve this look, considering the sharp edge of the circular light on the background - without the edges getting soft or faded. I assume they utilize a snoot or something. But it's really the sharp edges of the light that I'm a fan of.

Any suggestions? Thank you in advance! (reference photo below)

jlafferty Senior Member • Posts: 1,330
Re: How do you do that Spotlight/Light Beam effect

You need a zoom/optical spot or some way to project light and use a small piece of metal called a “gobo” between the light source and projector.

There are many cheapish options on the market these days but among the best is the Godox SA-P with a 60mm lens for large scale, and the SA-17 Bowens adapter to attach the SA-P to a full size LED like the VL150/300.

-- hide signature --

http://jimlafferty.com
General scoundrel. Evocative beats academic.

stateit
stateit Senior Member • Posts: 1,392

They're called profile spots here in the UK. Ellipsoidal reflector spots (?) stateside.

From back of light to front: Reflector/lamp, shutter blades, gobo frame, focus lenses, gel holder.

stateit's gear list:stateit's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS30 Olympus E-M5 II Olympus E-M1 II Sony a7 III Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F4-5.6 R +10 more
RobzLondon Junior Member • Posts: 36