Tricky Choice Coming Up ... Advice and Input Welcomed Please ...

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
Simon Pollard New Member • Posts: 11
Tricky Choice Coming Up ... Advice and Input Welcomed Please ...

Hi ... having had a Nikon D7000 for two years since 2013 then followed by a D810 since 2015 ... I feel the time may soon be right to upgrade my camera kit in some way.  I know the inescapable trends towards mirrorless of course is well developed.  FYI Naturally given the D810 I have quite a few decent full frame F mount lenses but I genuinely feel quite a few options are possibly for me over the next year(ish).   I am an enthusiastic amateur landscape photographer and you can assume budget is not an issue.  I both travel and trek into the wilds to some extent so lighter weight is better but I have been OK with the D810 setup pretty much.

https://simonneilpollard.com/ for reference ...

Questions and options in my head:

(1)  Stick with D810 ? - Why change .. but 5 years is a long time and things have moved on ??
(2)  Buy D850 tomorrow and get on with it ? - or better to wait for rumoured upgrade ??
(3). Wait for D860 / D880 model next year ? - Will it come ??  Is this counter strategic ??
(4). Buy Nikon Z7 ? - New Z mount lenses ? or use FTZ adapter is this OK ??
(5). Buy Sony a7R IV tomorrow ? - Well respected and used by many pros ?? - but full system switch cost ??
(6). Wait for Sony a7RIV replacement ? - unclear what that might be ?  Whats the point ?
(7). Longer shot might be Fuji GFX 50R range finder accessible mirrorless medium format ? - image quality of medium format sensor vs a7RIV or D850 ??

Any help and comments appreciated ... my instinct is D860/D880 but it feels counter strategic to mirrorless trend ... tough choices !!

Kind regards

Simon Pollard's gear list:Simon Pollard's gear list
Nikon D7000 Nikon D810 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 10-24mm f/3-5-4.5G ED Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED +11 more