Sony banding issues

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
karishma08 Junior Member • Posts: 30
Sony banding issues

Hi all,

I got my a7rIV last week. And did a small portrait session thus weekend.

prtty amazing. The sharpness and quality. And the eye AF works great.

I am always reading and trying to learn about the camera.

so I read about bending issues. Is it only happening when using silent shutter? And at certain shutter speeds?

i do shoot weddings as a second shooter and events and was thinking of getting the a7III next year if I do get to shoot weddings. It would be my main camera for weddings and events and my A7rIV would be my back up.

i am new to mirrorless cameras and new to Sony.

so how to avoid b no banding?

thanks

karish

Sony a7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Despiser Regular Member • Posts: 250
Re: Sony banding issues

No doubt you’ll receive more informed opinions, but I can share having only experienced banding once in the month I’ve had an A7iii. That was during a lightening storm and yes, apparently the electronic shutter is to blame. So it’s a good idea to have silent shooting toggle assigned in your function menu

Despiser's gear list:Despiser's gear list
Sony a7 III Sony FE 50mm F1.8 Tamron 28-200mm F2.8-5.6
pollup Contributing Member • Posts: 573

Hi, first thing to note is that this issue will happen with artificial lights. So, if you shoot with natural light with the electronic shutter, you won't have banding issues at all, but you could get image distortion, which is another issue.

so I read about bending issues. Is it only happening when using silent shutter?

It can happen with the mechanical shutter, but very rarely, so the answer is "mostly yes". This is a problem with all cameras except the ones with a global shutter.

There's also the flickering issue, which some people think is banding, but you can use the anti flicker setting, with mechanical shutter.