Color Space for scans

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
hhhhhhhh Regular Member • Posts: 170
Color Space for scans

Hi,

As a photographer, I always work in ProPhoto 16-bit and I print all my photos that way and they came out fantastic.

Now, as a painter, I gave my paintings to the studio to scan it and they returned it in a high resolution (tens of thousands of pixels on each side), but the color space wasn't assigned, and it was 8 bit TIFF.

I want to clean it up a little bit, before I return them for printing, but I'm curious, should I continue working on these files as they are, or should I convert them to 16bit and assign them some color profile? I won't change too much, they are good as they are, but I'll do a little clean up from dust and scratches. Maybe a bit of levels and curves, but just a touch. I don't want to spend days working on dozens of paintings, with the wrong settings.

I have to mention that 8 bit, without color profile is close to the TIFF limit of 4GB file size. Converting to 16 bit or assigning ProPhoto profile, I have to convert files to PSB.

Ken60 Senior Member • Posts: 2,228
Re: Color Space for scans

Firstly NEVER assign a profile.   Always convert TO a profile.  I can not see why you would want such a high pixel count file for printing , I would think it could become more of a hassle than an advantage.... unless of course your prints are going over a very large hoarding.

If you intention is to work with " normal " size A1 or A2 sized prints , I would convert to 16 bit and convert to colour space,  dust spot the images then make any adjustments before resizing to the print size at no more than 600 ppi . ..... or 720 for Epson .  Keep your Originals backed up somewhere safe , but use your newly converted files for repro.

The conversion from 8 bit to 16 is a bit of a lie and you might still have to watch how far you go with big changes to contrast .

-- hide signature --