Hating my Sony A6000

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
ZMM14 New Member • Posts: 8
Hating my Sony A6000

I'm fairly new to DSLR and specially Mirrorless cameras.
Took a course with an film camera as a teenager but did not keep up with photography.

I bought an used Canon 500D and paired with a 50mm f1.8 Yongnuo. I thought I managed to learn the different focus modes on the Canon + the "Sweet Spot" on the Yongnuo lens.

Since I became a new mom I wanted to be able to capture all those fast movement of my kid and also portraits, so I decided to try a brand new (in 2019) Sony Alpha 6000 with the kit lens 16-50mm.

Since most of my pictures were going to be indoor and also Love some Bokeh (But I'm a new mom... and broke) I pick up a Sony FE 50mm f1.8 second hand for $160 (In case in a future I could get a full frame).

Bottom line I haven't been able to take a single one sharp picture with this camera using either the kit lens or the Sony FE 50mm. I have seen so many videos on the different focusing modes, setting and all possible things I could be doing wrong.

I'm starting to hated it... thinking seriously on selling it and going back to my old but lovely Canon500D with my $48 dollars Chinese lens, back button and focus and recompose method (I'm still struggling with this method on the A6000).

Please help! I can't get the OSS version of this lens (couldn't back then and still can't afford it) and don't want give up yet without put in up a fight

What can I do? how can I test the lens or camera to know if there is something wrong with either or is just me not knowing how to use it!!!

Than you all, sorry for my long post. English isn't my first language.

Canon EOS 500D (EOS Rebel T1i / EOS Kiss X3) Sony a6000
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
D Cox Forum Pro • Posts: 26,887
Re: Hating my Sony A6000

Post a couple of bad pictures. It may not be the focussing that's the problem.