Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
susan2012 Regular Member • Posts: 389
Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

I’m using a Sony A7rx and Lightroom, trying to get better at making my photos sharp.  For whatever reason, I seem to miss focus a lot.  It would help if I had a tool that showed me where my focus actually was in my photos, in order to have insight on what I did wrong.  I know one you usually just figure it out by eye.  But it’d save me some time and trouble if I had assistance.

Cameras have focus highlighting.  Is there a way to basically do the same thing in Lightroom or any other editing apps?

jvc1 Senior Member • Posts: 1,944
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

Doesn't Sony editing software allow you to show the focus point that was used?

-- hide signature --

I keep some of my favorite pictures here,
https://www.flickr.com/photos/129958940@N03/

 jvc1's gear list:jvc1's gear list
Canon EOS Rebel SL2 Canon EOS 90D Canon EF 85mm F1.8 USM Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM +10 more
saltydogstudios
saltydogstudios Senior Member • Posts: 2,191
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

Focus peaking just looks for areas of sharp contrast.

Unfortunately there's no way to get lightroom to tell you where your focus was because photos are 2 dimensional - it can't say "your focus was a half inch in front of that flower" because it doesn't know WHERE that flower was.

Maybe one day with computational photography it'll be able to tell based on the character of the out of focus regions.

Otherwise, there are some tricks in photoshop that can show you areas of sharp contrast - high pass filters perhaps. I'm not enough of a photoshop guru to chime in on "what can show me areas of sharp contrast."

-- hide signature --

"Wait let me comb my hair and put on a tie."
New blog: http://sodium.nyc/blog/
Old blog: https://medium.com/ice-cream-geometry
Sometimes I take photos: https://www.instagram.com/sodiumstudio/

 saltydogstudios's gear list:saltydogstudios's gear list
Ricoh GR Digital Sigma DP2 Merrill Sigma DP3 Merrill Sigma dp3 Quattro Nikon D7000 +6 more
drynn Contributing Member • Posts: 671
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?
2

There is a Focus Point plugin for Lightroom that covers at least Nikon and Canon (and some Sony) cameras.

a_c_skinner Veteran Member • Posts: 9,786
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

Show us some jpgs with the EXIF data intact and you'll get good advice on here.  Show us what you mean and people cleverer than me will explain what is wrong.

-- hide signature --

Andrew Skinner

 a_c_skinner's gear list:a_c_skinner's gear list
Fujifilm X-T2 Fujifilm X-E3 Fujifilm XF 35mm F1.4 R Fujifilm XF 14mm F2.8 R Fujifilm XF 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 R LM OIS +5 more
sybersitizen Forum Pro • Posts: 17,510
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

susan2012 wrote:

I’m using a Sony A7rx and Lightroom, trying to get better at making my photos sharp. For whatever reason, I seem to miss focus a lot. It would help if I had a tool that showed me where my focus actually was in my photos,

Here's a tool that shows what focus points were used, for 64-bit Windows :

https://github.com/SK-Hardwired/s_afv

gardenersassistant Veteran Member • Posts: 7,649
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?
3

susan2012 wrote:

I’m using a Sony A7rx and Lightroom, trying to get better at making my photos sharp. For whatever reason, I seem to miss focus a lot. It would help if I had a tool that showed me where my focus actually was in my photos, in order to have insight on what I did wrong. I know one you usually just figure it out by eye. But it’d save me some time and trouble if I had assistance.

Cameras have focus highlighting. Is there a way to basically do the same thing in Lightroom or any other editing apps?

FastRawViewer (currently 15 UKP) does this. (See pages 107 and 108 of the user manual, which can be downloaded here.)

You can cycle around four views.

Contrasting, but not necessarily very sharp areas of the image

Small, acute, but not necessarily contrasting details

Both of the above

Neither

It works for JPEGs as well as raw files. In fact the above example is a JPEG processed from raw. The raw file shows no small, acute areas and hardly any contrasting areas. This is because I used a very small aperture which caused a lot of diffraction softening, blurring out a lot of detail. Here is what the raw file looked like with the Both option.

The out of the camera JPEG looks similar. Here it is with the Both option.

saltydogstudios
saltydogstudios Senior Member • Posts: 2,191
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

gardenersassistant wrote:

susan2012 wrote:

I’m using a Sony A7rx and Lightroom, trying to get better at making my photos sharp. For whatever reason, I seem to miss focus a lot. It would help if I had a tool that showed me where my focus actually was in my photos, in order to have insight on what I did wrong. I know one you usually just figure it out by eye. But it’d save me some time and trouble if I had assistance.

Cameras have focus highlighting. Is there a way to basically do the same thing in Lightroom or any other editing apps?

FastRawViewer (currently 15 UKP) does this. (See pages 107 and 108 of the user manual, which can be downloaded here.)

You can cycle around four views.

Contrasting, but not necessarily very sharp areas of the image

Small, acute, but not necessarily contrasting details

Both of the above

Neither

It works for JPEGs as well as raw files. In fact the above example is a JPEG processed from raw. The raw file shows no small, acute areas and hardly any contrasting areas. This is because I used a very small aperture which caused a lot of diffraction softening, blurring out a lot of detail. Here is what the raw file looked like with the Both option.

The out of the camera JPEG looks similar. Here it is with the Both option.

That's awesome.

-- hide signature --

"Wait let me comb my hair and put on a tie."
New blog: http://sodium.nyc/blog/
Old blog: https://medium.com/ice-cream-geometry
Sometimes I take photos: https://www.instagram.com/sodiumstudio/

 saltydogstudios's gear list:saltydogstudios's gear list
Ricoh GR Digital Sigma DP2 Merrill Sigma DP3 Merrill Sigma dp3 Quattro Nikon D7000 +6 more
stevet1 Regular Member • Posts: 205
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

susan2012 wrote:

For whatever reason, I seem to miss focus a lot.

Susan,

One thing you could try...

On my Canon, there are two buttons on the top right hand hand side of the back of the camera. One is a - (minus) sign and the other is a + (plus) sign.

Put your camera in live view mode, and hit the + sign. It will show you exactly what you are focusing on.

Steve Thomas

Jon555 Veteran Member • Posts: 6,962
Re: Is there a way to highlight in-focus areas out of camera?

In Capture One Pro (but not the free versions) it has a Focus Mask. It seems really good in the blurb, I found it less useful than Phase One suggested, but it has some value...

https://learn.captureone.com/blog-posts/find-the-best-focused-images-in-no-time/

 Jon555's gear list:Jon555's gear list
Nikon Coolpix 950 Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 Sony RX100 V Canon EOS 5DS R Panasonic GH5 +31 more
Dan Marchant Veteran Member • Posts: 3,282
+1 to drynn's post

The plugin can be found at http://www.lightroomfocuspointsplugin.com/

Two important points to note....

1. if you focus and recompose the active focus point will show as where you moved it too, rather than what you focused on before recomposing.

2. it won't work if you shoot AI servo because the focus point is never set in AI servo, it is constantly hunting.

-- hide signature --

Dan
-
f/2.8 is a smaller number than f/22 in the same way that 100 is a smaller number than 20.
My website danmarchant.com
Street Photos Flickr street album
Instagram (mostly street stuff) dan_marchant
Instagram (sports stuff) sporting852

 Dan Marchant's gear list:Dan Marchant's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS II USM Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM +1 more
Guy Parsons
Guy Parsons Forum Pro • Posts: 34,824
Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

 Guy Parsons's gear list:Guy Parsons's gear list
Sony RX100 VI Olympus PEN E-PL1 Olympus PEN E-PL5 Olympus PEN E-P5 Olympus OM-D E-M10 II +5 more
gardenersassistant Veteran Member • Posts: 7,649
Re: Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.

Guy Parsons wrote:

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

Thanks for the heads-up Guy. For my part I already have both applications. I don't use them much but when I do need them I find them really useful, RawDigger mainly.

Jon555 Veteran Member • Posts: 6,962
Re: Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.

Guy Parsons wrote:

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

Can I ask for a small favour, if you have them can you calculate the SHA1 hashes for:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe
FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

E.g. using https://www.slavasoft.com/hashcalc/

As when I download RawDigger in Chrome it says it can't be downloaded securely and I get a different file (of the same length) as I get in IE/Edge:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe

Chrome:
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

IE and Edge (also an old version of Opera pre-Chrome):
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

Everything:
MD5 = 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6
SHA1 = 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Thanks

John

P.S. The Chrome download didn't upset VirusTotal at all.

 Jon555's gear list:Jon555's gear list
Nikon Coolpix 950 Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 Sony RX100 V Canon EOS 5DS R Panasonic GH5 +31 more
gardenersassistant Veteran Member • Posts: 7,649
Re: Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.
1

Jon555 wrote:

Guy Parsons wrote:

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

Can I ask for a small favour, if you have them can you calculate the SHA1 hashes for:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe
FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

E.g. using https://www.slavasoft.com/hashcalc/

As when I download RawDigger in Chrome it says it can't be downloaded securely and I get a different file (of the same length) as I get in IE/Edge:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe

Chrome:
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

IE and Edge (also an old version of Opera pre-Chrome):
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

Everything:
MD5 = 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6
SHA1 = 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Thanks

John

P.S. The Chrome download didn't upset VirusTotal at all.

Downloaded in Chrome Version 83.0.4103.97. ESet didn't object.

FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

MD5 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6

SHA1 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe

MD5 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6

SHA1 c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

Guy Parsons
Guy Parsons Forum Pro • Posts: 34,824
Re: Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.
1

Jon555 wrote:

Guy Parsons wrote:

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

Can I ask for a small favour, if you have them can you calculate the SHA1 hashes for:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe
FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

E.g. using https://www.slavasoft.com/hashcalc/

As when I download RawDigger in Chrome it says it can't be downloaded securely and I get a different file (of the same length) as I get in IE/Edge:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe

Chrome:
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

IE and Edge (also an old version of Opera pre-Chrome):
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

Everything:
MD5 = 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6
SHA1 = 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Thanks

John

P.S. The Chrome download didn't upset VirusTotal at all.

Good grief, that's too complicated for me. I need to read some more.

I simply download and install, I always use Firefox, no problems ever, no need ever for me to muck about with hash totals in the umpteen years of my computing.

A few minutes later, what I found....

RawDigger

MD5 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6

SHA1 c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer

MD5 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6

SHA1 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Now I can go back to watching endless repeats of rubbish TV.....

 Guy Parsons's gear list:Guy Parsons's gear list
Sony RX100 VI Olympus PEN E-PL1 Olympus PEN E-PL5 Olympus PEN E-P5 Olympus OM-D E-M10 II +5 more
Jon555 Veteran Member • Posts: 6,962
Re: Great answer. FastRawViewer discount ends on 15th.

Guy Parsons wrote:

Jon555 wrote:

Guy Parsons wrote:

Thanks for the FastRawViewer heads up.

I learn something every day.

Or at least I learn to RTFM, I must never have read as far as page 107.... Simply cycle through the looks via pressing the "P" key, what could be easier?

Long time user of that program but mostly looking for saturated channels etc via the companion RawDigger.

I have the cheapest Exposure edition and be warned, the 25% discount finishes on the 15th June, it's already that today here in Oz.

https://www.rawdigger.com/purchase and look for FastRawViewer Plus Exposure edition of RawDigger for a very useful pair of programs.

If only wanting FastRawViewer alone then the same 25% discount finishes on the 15th June.

https://www.fastrawviewer.com/purchase

Can I ask for a small favour, if you have them can you calculate the SHA1 hashes for:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe
FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

E.g. using https://www.slavasoft.com/hashcalc/

As when I download RawDigger in Chrome it says it can't be downloaded securely and I get a different file (of the same length) as I get in IE/Edge:

RawDigger-1.4.1.683-x64-Setup.exe

Chrome:
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

IE and Edge (also an old version of Opera pre-Chrome):
MD5 = 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6
SHA1 = c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer-1.5.7.1636-x64-Setup.exe

Everything:
MD5 = 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6
SHA1 = 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Thanks

John

P.S. The Chrome download didn't upset VirusTotal at all.

Good grief, that's too complicated for me. I need to read some more.

I simply download and install, I always use Firefox, no problems ever, no need ever for me to muck about with hash totals in the umpteen years of my computing.

A few minutes later, what I found....

RawDigger

MD5 789ab308a15b63b68640419023457de6

SHA1 c3d466e061eb37d0614f850022a8c8aa92dc67e5

FastRawViewer

MD5 88c410ccf519bcdaee8a101fdfe37bd6

SHA1 4fac30eb3e2cc380ce6e54cf14175377159954dc

Now I can go back to watching endless repeats of rubbish TV.....

Thanks to both for replying. I also spoke to them and they changed their download links from http to https, which cheered Chrome up no end.

Downloaded, installed and purchased...

 Jon555's gear list:Jon555's gear list
Nikon Coolpix 950 Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 Sony RX100 V Canon EOS 5DS R Panasonic GH5 +31 more
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads