pen tablet for editing (general question)

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
hwg Contributing Member • Posts: 691
pen tablet for editing (general question)

Hello

I’m considering switching from a mouse to a pen tablet such as the Wacom or Huion tablets for editing in Capture One software.

I have never used one before and I am confused about what is meant by the fact a pen has Tilt Recognition. +/- 60 in the specs I have seen.

What is Tilt Recognition?

Does this mean that tablets that do not have this feature need the pen to be kept vertical in order to function?

Or, does it mean that pens with this function display different effects when the pen is tilted.

I normal hold a pen at an angle, 30 or 40 degrees (I guess) so having to hold the pen vertically would defeat the purpose of using it. I can’t see it being very comfortable having to hold it vertical all the time.

Thanks

-- hide signature --

D850 & D300
Nikon: 35mm f1. 8, 50mm f1. 8, 85mm f1. 8, 105mm f2.8, 24-120mm f4
Sigma: 150-500mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM
Windows 10 Professional 64 bit, i7 quad core, 16GB RAM, SSD

Ken Seals
Ken Seals Senior Member • Posts: 1,337
Re: pen tablet for editing (general question)

The pen angle is useful when using certain brushes. In general use, the tilt will not affect your work.

-- hide signature --

Regards,
Ken - LR ACE
FAA Remote Pilot Certificate, ATP ASMEL
Mizzou PJ '66
www.kenseals.com

Ken Seals's gear list:Ken Seals's gear list
Nikon D700 Nikon D500 Nikon D850 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED +7 more
OP hwg Contributing Member • Posts: 691

thanks

so if i get a tablet that does not have this tilt function I can still hold the pen at the normal angle i write with and the tablet will work?

it will see my movements etc.

-- hide signature --

D850 & D300

Ken Seals
Ken Seals Senior Member • Posts: 1,337