Critique My Photo

Started 4 months ago | Questions
Messi10ninja New Member • Posts: 10
Critique My Photo

Hello, I am new to photography and this is one of the first pictures that I have taken. I shot it at a shutter speed of 1/20, an aperture of f/5.6, at 200mm and on an ISO of 560. Afterward, I edited it a bit on Lightroom.

What do you guys think? What could I have done better?

Thanks

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
BrokenPhotography Contributing Member • Posts: 558
Re: Critique My Photo

I feel the angle of approach (framing/composition) is spot on.. but the time or time of day/night is off. The images is really grainy and the lens is registering as gibberish.. Would like to know what lens was used. Couple of things could have helped this setup. Tripod and using a long exposure. Also was a filter used?

MOD rick decker Forum Pro • Posts: 16,596

I would try the shot again in better light which seems to be the main issue IMO.  It is grainy and due to the lighting, does not show a great amount of detail.

tarakanchik Senior Member • Posts: 1,010

Besides the obvious -- light/grain, I would also suggest including a little bit more of the bottom to have the tree line connected.

-- hide signature --

I lug my photo equipment everywhere. Is it heavy? Yes. Is it uncomfortable and cumbersome? Absolutely. Is it often an inconvenience? You bet. But is it all worth it? Sometimes...

OP Messi10ninja New Member • Posts: 10

Hello,

I shot the photo on my dad's old camera. The lens is a AF-S Nikkor 18-200mm 1:3,5 - 5,6. I didn't use a filter, as I just started with photography. I'll try out your tips tommorow in better light.

Thanks a lot

Alright I'll try it again tommorow, thanks

Alright thanks man

Krusty79 Senior Member • Posts: 1,863