Budget camera for dental photography and maybe something else...

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
YourDentist New Member • Posts: 24
Budget camera for dental photography and maybe something else...

I was looking for a camera and was reading a lot this week about it so I decided to make a post and ask to the people with higher experice.

Here is my problem;

I'm a dentristy student and I recognize that dental photography has a big value as Profesional because I can show people exactly what we need to do to my patients since they can't look inside their own mouth...

I found that I need a entry level camera since i don't have a big wallet, Canon T3 to T6 maybe, and a macro lens, i think 60mm is the because because in a crop sensor there is a a zoom unlike full frame so a 60mm x 1.6 = 96mm focal length so I can be close enough to take a picture of a full arch and is lighter and cheaper than the 100mm.

I was looking on ebay for a used body and 60mm, so I'm asking for help because I'm really new in the world of photography, hope you can help and thanks.

Canon EOS 1100D (EOS Rebel T3 / EOS Kiss X50) Canon EOS Rebel T6 (EOS 1300D)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
FrancoD Forum Pro • Posts: 11,448
Re: Budget camera for dental photography and maybe something else...

many years ago Yashica sold a dedicated dental camera.

A 55mm (or 100mm) 1:1 macro lens with a ring flash.

So I would suggest you add a ring flash to your kit.

I was trying to remember why I had those cameras in stock (different version from the one above)

it was during the iridology craze when everything could have been  determined by the look of your eyes.

That was replaced by crystals . I don't know what the latest version of that kind of science  is now.

BrokenPhotography
BrokenPhotography Regular Member • Posts: 435

Canon EOS M6 / Canon EF to EF-S Adapter / Canon Refurbished EF-S 35mm f/2.8 Macro IS STM