Japan Trip lens selection

Started 2 months ago | Questions
StayReal New Member • Posts: 7
Japan Trip lens selection

Hi guys,

First things first, I'm only a beginner in photography so sometimes don't take the most amazing photos. I'm planning a month long trip to Japan next year and wondering whether I should take all my lenses or invest in new one with greater range of focal length to take less. Will be going from Osaka up to Hokkaido, so will be shooting a bit of everything.

These are my current lenses:

Panasonic 8-18mm 2.8-4

20mm f1.7

12-32mm f3.5-5.6 kit lens

45-150mm f4-5.6

I don't know if I should take the whole lot, or should I invest in another lens with a greater range of focal length and only take 1 or 2 lenses.

Any suggestions appreciated.

ANSWER:
addlightness Senior Member • Posts: 3,081
Re: Japan Trip lens selection

StayReal wrote:

Hi guys,

First things first, I'm only a beginner in photography so sometimes don't take the most amazing photos. I'm planning a month long trip to Japan next year and wondering whether I should take all my lenses or invest in new one with greater range of focal length to take less. Will be going from Osaka up to Hokkaido, so will be shooting a bit of everything.

I was in Japan(Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Nara) a few years ago.  I had with me, EM10.i + GM1 + 15/1.7 + 9-18 + 40-150

Panasonic 8-18mm 2.8-4

Yes.  City and landscape

20mm f1.7

Yes.  Low-light/indoor

Maybe.  Actually, it's so small, why not!

45-150mm f4-5.6

If you're visiting palaces, this lens might come in handy.  Usage: less than 10%

I don't know if I should take the whole lot, or should I invest in another lens with a greater range of focal length and only take 1 or 2 lenses.

addlightness's gear list:addlightness's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Olympus E-M5 II Olympus PEN-F Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX85 Panasonic Lumix G 14mm F2.5 ASPH +9 more
Guy Parsons
Guy Parsons Forum Pro • Posts: 32,985

StayReal wrote:

Hi guys,

Panasonic 8-18mm 2.8-4