Tamron 17-28mm vs Sigma 14-25mm

Started Sep 26, 2019 | Discussions
tdh1985 New Member • Posts: 6
Tamron 17-28mm vs Sigma 14-25mm

Hi all,

I have a Sony a7riii and looking at getting either of the Tamron 17-28 or the new Sigma 14-24. I have never really used filters and I know the sigma only has rear filter slot which from what I gather are hard to come by or a very expensive front adaptor. I'm fairly new to photography but want something to last and suit me as I develop my skills. I want to try my hand at astro shots and landscapes.

I can't see any comparisons on the two lenses online. Any advice?

Sony a7R
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
LenRivers Senior Member • Posts: 2,718
Re: Tamron 17-28mm vs Sigma 14-25mm

Google search your question and look on YouTube

you also have the Sony 12-24

kelly15 Contributing Member • Posts: 837

tdh1985 wrote:

Hi all,

I have a Sony a7riii and looking at getting either of the Tamron 17-28 or the new Sigma 14-24. I have never really used filters and I know the sigma only has rear filter slot which from what I gather are hard to come by or a very expensive front adaptor. I'm fairly new to photography but want something to last and suit me as I develop my skills. I want to try my hand at astro shots and landscapes.

I can't see any comparisons on the two lenses online. Any advice?

This new Sigma is fantastic.

It competes with the best equivalent fixed lenses. And always wins in my opinion.

Added value, same barrel buttons as FE lenses.

kelly15's gear list:kelly15's gear list
Sony a7R III Sony a6400 Sony FE 24-105mm F4 Sony E 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ OSS Sony FE 35mm F1.8 +5 more
ZodiacPhoto
ZodiacPhoto Veteran Member • Posts: 3,032

If you need 14mm, and don't mind a 800g lens,  definitely go for the Sigma.

14mm is really wide - everything looks far away and small, with huge foreground space - better have something interesting in there other than your feet.