A7r2 - charging orange light?

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
mattjp1
mattjp1 Regular Member • Posts: 234
A7r2 - charging orange light?

Hello

I just picked-up a used a7r2. It didn't come with an external charger so I charge it with the micro usb plugged to the wall.

It seems the orange light indicates the device is charging. However I thought it would either turn green or disappears, when the battery is fully charged?

On my camera, the orange light stays on even though the battery is at 100%. So I don't know when to stop charging and have to check "manually".

I'm new to Sony. Is that normal or is there a problem?

Thanks

matt

Snapsh0t
Snapsh0t Senior Member • Posts: 2,339
Re: A7r2 - charging orange light?

Reading the manual is often helpful as it clearly states that the light should turn off when the charging has finished.

Snapsh0t's gear list:Snapsh0t's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 Fujifilm X30
moficera Regular Member • Posts: 206

It stays orange a little longer even when the battery shows 100%. Give it more time and the orange light disappears.

moficera's gear list:moficera's gear list
Canon G1 X II Sony a6300 Sony a7 III Sony E 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ OSS Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM Art +10 more
bobhp Regular Member • Posts: 211

moficera wrote:

It stays orange a little longer even when the battery shows 100%. Give it more time and the orange light disappears.

I agree with this my Sonys seem to take an age to charge fully  the light stays on for a long time after the battery appears to be fully charged.

bobhp's gear list:bobhp's gear list
Fujifilm XF 23mm F1.4 R
maltmoose Senior Member • Posts: 1,495

For what its worth one of my third party a7r2 batterys the orange light never turns off using the charger, the sony one does. not sure what happens in camera though.

Paul Barnard
Paul Barnard Veteran Member • Posts: 3,084

bobhp wrote:

moficera wrote: