13x18 Film Holder question?

Started 2 months ago | Questions
jacklindr New Member • Posts: 18
13x18 Film Holder question?

I've wanted to get into large format photography for quite some time and a few weeks ago I started researching a bit.

I was planing on doing that for awhile before buying anything, BUT I came across this camera and I seemed cheap enough... At least for my wallet.

The thing is, that it comes without film holders. They seem to be easy enough to get hold of, I just don't know what to buy for this camera.

Should I buy holders for this specific camera or do they come in standard sizes?

Hope someone here can help me. Any advice is appreciated. And again, I am a total novice, so it's ok if you reply as if I'm an idiot, cos I many ways I am!

Thanks.

P.s The camera is a Thornton-Pickard 13x18 (Time & Inst)

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Leswick II Contributing Member • Posts: 937
Re: 13x18 Film Holder question?

I use 5x7 and that's close to 13x18.  I'd suggest you actually measure the space where the holder slides into (length and width).  Some cameras have been modified to use one size or another (both ?).  If I understand correctly, the 13x18 is more of a Euro thing, but I see both, the 5x7 and 13x18 film holders on the epay.

AlbertTheLazy
AlbertTheLazy Veteran Member • Posts: 7,934

That almost certainly had specific plate holders which will no longer be available. 13x18cm is a film size that probably hasn't been available for decades. The nearest I've ever seen was 7x5 inches.

That camera is of no value except as decoration unless you are capable and prepared to hand build film holders for 5x4.

If you really want to shoot cut film I suggest you look for a more modern camera that takes standard universal back double dark slides.

-- hide signature --

Albert the lazy photographer
Having fun with my cameras in Scotland

AlbertTheLazy's gear list:AlbertTheLazy's gear list