Is the A7 III expected to drop in price after IV launch?

Started 2 months ago | Questions
OutOfTime007 New Member • Posts: 3
Is the A7 III expected to drop in price after IV launch?

So I have been considering changing over to Sony for a while now. Being a hobby photographer I dont really mind not having the newest gear and the A7 III is already a well reviewed camera. So now that the A7 IV has been announced do you think there will be a price drop for the III? How much did the II drop when the III came out? Or am I just getting my hopes up too much?

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Sony a7 Sony a7 II Sony a7 III
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
TripleCoatedBokeh Regular Member • Posts: 130
Re: Is the A7 III expected to drop in price after IV launch?

I wouldn't expect a major price drop until A7Riv sales have started to cool off.  I could be wrong.  I hope i'm wrong.

leonche64
leonche64 Contributing Member • Posts: 991

OutOfTime007 wrote:

So I have been considering changing over to Sony for a while now. Being a hobby photographer I dont really mind not having the newest gear and the A7 III is already a well reviewed camera. So now that the A7 IV has been announced do you think there will be a price drop for the III? How much did the II drop when the III came out? Or am I just getting my hopes up too much?

The new camera is an A7RIV, not the A7 IV.  They are different models. The A7III is the hottest selling Sony camera, so don't expect a price drop any time soon.  Maybe after a replacement is announced, in about 6 months or so.

leonche64's gear list:leonche64's gear list
Sony a7 II Sony E 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OSS Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6 G SSM Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC HSM Sony 85mm F2.8 SAM +7 more
PPierre Regular Member • Posts: 456
It should be the case on the used market