Why is daylight WB so blue on the D750? Locked

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
This thread is locked.
Kung Fu
Kung Fu Senior Member • Posts: 3,611
Why is daylight WB so blue on the D750?

On all my previous Canon, Sony, and Fuji cameras, if I was out in full summer sun, the “daylight” WB setting was really close if not perfect. But with my new D750, it seems way too cool:

Unedited camera jpeg

Color corrected

I’m new to Nikon, is this typical? Or maybe I have some setting incorrect? I checked the fine tune feature and it’s untouched.

Note: I do have a 3-stop B+W MRC ND filter on the lens at all times.

Please don’t respond with “shoot Raw”, thank you.

Kung Fu's gear list:Kung Fu's gear list
Nikon D750
Nikon D750
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
scokill
scokill Veteran Member • Posts: 5,762
Re: Why is daylight WB so blue on the D750?

I suspect that the root cause is your ND filter. The only other answer would be adjustment of the daylight WB default over to blue. Select daylight and move over to the right with the control wheel to check.  I've found auto WB to be more to my desire than choosing a manual WB.

scokill's gear list:scokill's gear list
Nikon D4 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S 70-200mm F2.8E FL ED VR
Kung Fu
OP Kung Fu Senior Member • Posts: 3,611

scokill wrote:

I suspect that the root cause is your ND filter. The only other answer would be adjustment of the daylight WB default over to blue. Select daylight and move over to the right with the control wheel to check. I've found auto WB to be more to my desire than choosing a manual WB.

Unfortunately I didn’t take any test shots in the same light without the ND. But I’m surprised if an expensive ND would have that much effect, at only 3 stops.

Nikon D750
briantilley
briantilley Veteran Member • Posts: 4,236

I'd certainly try it without the filter before jumping to any conclusions.