If you were me what camera do you choose and Why?

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
kombizz0
kombizz0 Regular Member • Posts: 262
If you were me what camera do you choose and Why?

For many years I was a Minolta photographer and witnessed for many years the develoopment of digital technology in cameras, especially Sony cameras because as you know Minolta sold its product to Sony. Over the years I have bought different lenses for my Minolta Dynax 7 (Minolta APO tele-zoom 100-300, Minolta APO tele zoom 100-400 F4.5-6.7, Minolta AF 200mm F2.8, Sigma Macro 105mm F2.8, Sigma Flash EF-430). During this period of change I saved my birthday money for purchasing the Sony Alpha 7 and now have the means to buy any kind only for it's body or perhaps a good 50mm lens.

However, for some time I have been pre-occupied with a dangerous thought that bothers me. This thought says that instead of buying a DSLR Sony A7, why not buy a mid-range mirrorless camera, i.e. Sony A6400 because it is lighter in weight and less complicated with fewer lenses to carry compared with the Sony A7.

On the other hand I would like to have a complete camera that has diversity for taking different tasks from portrait, landscape, to macro, etc

So I am asking if you were me, which thought would you listen to and why? - At present I have a Panasonic DMC-FZ200 that is versatile for travelling but has lots of limitation.

I appreciate your advice in this matter.

-- hide signature --

I was born and brought up in Iran, a beautiful country full of history.
http://www.kombizz.com/

kombizz0's gear list:kombizz0's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 +12 more
Sony a7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
AOC
AOC Regular Member • Posts: 229
Re: If you were me what camera do you choose and Why?

I had no idea Sony even made DSLRs. Why would anyone want them over its mirrorless FF or APS-C bodies?

sportyaccordy Forum Pro • Posts: 14,581

AOC wrote: