Why do ppl prefer ricoh GR for "street photo"and not Sony RX100

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
vallhall Senior Member • Posts: 1,025
Why do ppl prefer ricoh GR for "street photo"and not Sony RX100

Hi

I have no experience with street photo, but why is Ricoh GR favorite?. I mean the Sony RX100 has sharp lenses, amazing af, EVF and not least zoom

Explain for me plz

vallhall's gear list:vallhall's gear list
Sony RX100 VI Samsung NX500 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX8 Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Panasonic 12-35mm F2.8 +2 more
Sony RX100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Labe
MOD Labe Veteran Member • Posts: 9,684
Re: Why do ppl prefer ricoh GR for "street photo"and not Sony RX100

Why would anyone using a Ricoh be here in the Sony forum?

Im a RX10 user myself preferring the 24-200 f2.8 and large grip.

Labe's gear list:Labe's gear list
Fujifilm FinePix IS-1 Sony Alpha NEX-3 Canon EOS 60D Olympus E-M1
OP vallhall Senior Member • Posts: 1,025

Labe wrote:

English isnt my first languike, so maybe i misunderstand you, or you me!?

As i understand Ricoh GR is a more common, and ppl refer to it as street camera than RX100. RX10 is a different animal

Sony RX100 VI Samsung NX500 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX8 Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Panasonic 12-35mm F2.8 +2 more
66GTO Veteran Member • Posts: 3,238

Ricoh GR is OK, but it will never be a Sony. Maybe they like the fixed focal length lens.

-- hide signature --

Crazy old man! Slow down. You are way too old to be
hunting hemi's in that 66GTO.

66GTO's gear list:66GTO's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Canon PowerShot G1 X Sony RX100 +1 more
Labe
MOD Labe Veteran Member • Posts: 9,684

vallhall wrote:

Labe wrote:

As i understand Ricoh GR is a more common, and ppl refer to it as street camera than RX100. RX10 is a different animal

You should be asking the question in the Ricoh forum to find out why they chose it.

Labe's gear list:Labe's gear list