Improving astrophotography tips

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
hasibul212003 New Member • Posts: 22
Improving astrophotography tips

So I am very new to astro so I would appreciate some tips which would help me take better pics.

This was taken with the X-T2 & Samyang 12mm. Tripod: Mefoto roadtrip. Shot RAW then converted to jpeg. No post editing done.

Apart from editing any tips that I could implement. ISO-400, SS-15 s

hasibul212003's gear list:hasibul212003's gear list
Fujifilm X-T2 Samyang 12mm F2.0 NCS CS Fujifilm 16-55mm F2.8R LM WR
Fujifilm X-T2
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
GreetingsFromAP Regular Member • Posts: 107
Re: Improving astrophotography tips

hasibul212003 wrote:

So I am very new to astro so I would appreciate some tips which would help me take better pics.

This was taken with the X-T2 & Samyang 12mm. Tripod: Mefoto roadtrip. Shot RAW then converted to jpeg. No post editing done.

Looks like a lot of light pollution.  The 500 rule will help to determine how long you can expose but that doesn't account for light pollution. 12mm and f/2.0 should be enough if you can get to a dark sky area (look up dark sky maps), cloud coverage is low and the moon isn't out. Given the right spot you could even boost the ISO some . I'd also turn off all in camera processing .

I'd have to travel 2-3 hours for true dark skies but I know about 30 min and I'm away from the local sources. Plan to try it soon

Jerry-astro
MOD Jerry-astro Forum Pro • Posts: 13,393

hasibul212003 wrote: