I have the Sigma 150-600 Contemporary..is the 1.4x teleconverter worth getting?

Started 2 months ago | Questions
Monica727
Monica727 Junior Member • Posts: 29
I have the Sigma 150-600 Contemporary..is the 1.4x teleconverter worth getting?

I recently bought a Nikon d3400, and have been having a wonderful time photographing wildlife.  Mostly birds.  I then decided to invest in a Sigma 150-600 Contemporary lens, since I was frustrated that I couldn't get closer to my subjects.  I am also really enjoying the lens.  I still would like a little extra zoom, but am wondering if I will lose anything in image quality with the 1.4x teleconverter.

I'm pretty new at this.  I just really enjoy photographing wildlife.  I am an artist, and have a good eye, but not quite enough experience yet.  I am shooting mostly in Shutter priority, since my subjects are often moving.  I'm still working the kinks out of getting nice sharp images.  I just ordered a monopod to help with stabilization.  Any advice is appreciated.

Monica727's gear list:Monica727's gear list
Nikon D7200 Nikon D3400 Nikon 200-500mm F5.6E ED VR Nikon AF-P 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR Nikon AF-P 70-300mm F4.5-6.3G
ANSWER:
Nikon D3400
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Gerry Winterbourne Forum Pro • Posts: 15,659
Re: I have the Sigma 150-600 Contemporary..is the 1.4x teleconverter worth getting?

Monica727 wrote:

I recently bought a Nikon d3400, and have been having a wonderful time photographing wildlife. Mostly birds. I then decided to invest in a Sigma 150-600 Contemporary lens, since I was frustrated that I couldn't get closer to my subjects. I am also really enjoying the lens. I still would like a little extra zoom, but am wondering if I will lose anything in image quality with the 1.4x teleconverter.