Zoom recommendation for safari

Started Mar 13, 2019 | Questions
Horatiu Mihalache Junior Member • Posts: 32
Zoom recommendation for safari

Hello,

In the summer I will go for a safari trip to Malawi, Zambia & Botswana (my first).

I have no experience whatsoever with safari photography nor with long lenses. I rarely use my 70mm on my K-3ii and almost never go beyond that.

I would like to take some nice pictures but they will be just memories - no printing or selling.

I was looking at Sigma 50-500 (both versions) but they seem very hard to find, even used, and I don't know if I will really need all that reach.

What sort of focal lengths it's more likely that I will need? And, if I am not asking too much, what lenses would you recommend?

Thanks!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
DavidB77
DavidB77 Forum Member • Posts: 64
Re: Zoom recommendation for safari

Horatiu Mihalache wrote:

Hello,

In the summer I will go for a safari trip to Malawi, Zambia & Botswana (my first).

I have no experience whatsoever with safari photography nor with long lenses. I rarely use my 70mm on my K-3ii and almost never go beyond that.

I would like to take some nice pictures but they will be just memories - no printing or selling.

I was looking at Sigma 50-500 (both versions) but they seem very hard to find, even used, and I don't know if I will really need all that reach.

What sort of focal lengths it's more likely that I will need? And, if I am not asking too much, what lenses would you recommend?

Thanks!

On a K-3II, a 60-250mm should be very fine for a safari as it's about 100-400 equivalent in 35mm and it have a good IQ and is "all weather".

Sigma 50-500 is probably fine too if you want to shoot small animals or birds.

Pentax 150-450 is probably too long on the wide end if animals get too close to the jeep and if you want to take other photos than portraits.

DavidB77's gear list:DavidB77's gear list