Microscope with MFT camera?

Started Feb 13, 2019 | Discussions
(unknown member) Regular Member • Posts: 206
Microscope with MFT camera?

I would like to have a x800 microscope and as I have a Panasonic GX85, I was wondering if I can use it and make a do-it-yourself microscope. Does someone here have done such thing?

I’m not an expert in microscopes, at first, I was thinking that I only needed to buy the Oly 60mm Macro… But, then I’ve seen that you have to buy extension tubes, etc. and now I’m a bit confused.

Thanks in advance!

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX85
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
GBC Senior Member • Posts: 1,453
Re: Microscope with MFT camera?

This might be something you'd be interested in.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=details&O=&Q=&gclid=Cj0KCQiAnY_jBRDdARIsAIEqpJ0w6HEHuTOcJdV_L80q1jL2wRUIcKncvIUaIeG8IR0aB8I-xI7Q2_YaAmgKEALw_wcB&is=REG&lsft=BI%3A514&pcur=CAD&sku=852859

With a macro (not the one linked to above) the extension tubes are useful for increasing magnification inexpensively.

You can also reverse lenses so they attach backwards to get high magnification lenses.

https://digital-photography-school.com/reverse-mounting-your-prime-lenses-for-affordable-macro-photography/

OP (unknown member) Regular Member • Posts: 206

Thanks for the fast answer! But these things confuse me a bit. What is the magnification that I have with the Macro lens 5:1 when I compare it with a real x800 microscope (e.g. AmScope)?

The lens is only x5 magnification?

Dr Xavier wrote:

Thanks for the fast answer! But these things confuse me a bit. What is the magnification that I have with the Macro lens 5:1 when I compare it with a real x800 microscope (e.g. AmScope)?

It the ratio is 1:1, then the image on the sensor is equivalent to the image it real life (if you were taking a macro photograph of a sensor, each pixel would be captured by a single pixel if that makes sense.