Stacking Software for Mac

Started Jan 14, 2019 | Discussions
Rockinrod New Member • Posts: 1
Stacking Software for Mac

I'm completely new to astrophotography. Been around manual photography since the 70's, and I do amateur astronomy, just never the photography part of it.

I have a MacBook Pro and need a software which I can learn on where I can improve resolution, and reduce noise. Anyone have a suggestion, and perhaps can send me a link where one can download a software for this?

I have a program called Lynkeos, but I'm not too thrilled with it. Not seeing good results.

Thank you,

Rockinrod

moficera Contributing Member • Posts: 964
Re: Stacking Software for Mac

I had good initial results with SiriL. Still a beginner myself.

moficera's gear list:moficera's gear list
Sony a7R IV Sony a9 II Sony FE 100-400mm F4.5-5.6 Sony FE 20mm F1.8G Sony FE 14mm F1.8 GM +18 more
W5JCK
W5JCK Veteran Member • Posts: 4,002

If you do any stacking and aligning of multiple images, then Nebulosity works well, but it costs $95.

You can also use Wine to "bottle" some Windows apps and then run them under Mac OS, for now. But there are limitations and I think Wine currently only supports 32-bit apps so once Apple locks out 32-bit apps that method won't work. Apple already has said they will block 32-bit apps in the future and only allow 64-bit apps. So unless Wine updates to 64-bit, we will be out of luck. I personally use a Wine bottled version of DeepSkyStacker (DSS) for Win on my MBP. In the past I used an older Windows computer to run DSS to stack and align images, then copied them over to my MBP to post process.