NP-FW50 Battery Test

Started Dec 30, 2018 | Discussions
Davi7d777
Davi7d777 Regular Member • Posts: 342
NP-FW50 Battery Test

I made the following report 6 months ago and am just now posting the information. Also have an Excel spreadsheet and additional images beyond the one graph below.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There has been considerable discussion on the Sony Alpha A6000 camera batteries since the camera was released in early 2014 because the relatively small battery does not have a large capacity. Much of the Internet and forum information has not had much value as users make vague assessments of what they seem to notice. I've been an electronic tech in Silicon Valley for decades. The capacity of my Sony battery was 1020 miliamp-hours at a nominal 7.4 volts. Other brands have often been rated higher while informal user assessments have tended to indicate the Sony battery has more capacity than off brands. I found that true for off brands in 2014 but since 2015 have been buying DSTE batteries that actually last a bit longer than the Sony battery. Although they are rated at about 180% of the Sony capacity, they don't have that much more relative capacity.

Some may wonder why I own so many spares? It is because I sometimes backpack away from power charging sources for as long as 10 days at a time. I also multi row column stitch blend and focus stack frames, both of which add considerably to my shot counts. Otherwise I use known methods and camera settings to reduce current drain like shutting off the camera between shots.