Automatic focus stacking with Sony - It can be done (software inside) Locked

Started Aug 29, 2018 | Discussions
This thread is locked.
binarycamera
binarycamera Forum Member • Posts: 58
Automatic focus stacking with Sony - It can be done (software inside)

A couple of weeks ago I noticed that the Sony Imagine Edge software supports shifting the focus of my A7R3. Unfortunately the software itself does not provide sufficient means of automation to make focus stacking possible. I work as a software developer so I decided to build a small tool to fill the gap. The program simulates a user pressing the "shift focus"-button and "take picture"-button over and over again. In a way its a remote for a remote.

This is the first public version of my software. Please bear in mind that it was created in my leisure time in a couple of hours spread across weekends. So don't expect too much.
The software is open source, I don't make any profit with it nor do I intent to.
You can find some more infos and the download link at github: B8Stack at github

Here is a picture of an old brokoli that I found in my fridge stacked from 120 images:

And a little screenshot of the software:

Feedback is welcome.

binarycamera's gear list:binarycamera's gear list
Sony a7 Sony a7R III Sony FE 35mm F2.8 Sony FE 55mm F1.8 Sony FE 90mm F2.8 macro +2 more
Ron Poelman
Ron Poelman Veteran Member • Posts: 7,954
Interesting. Any hope at all for Android ?

I'm hoping for a way to avoid Sony and Windows.
Surely a modern phone/tablet has enough grunt not to need the framework ?

-- hide signature --

Ron.
Volunteer, what could possibly go wrong ?

Ron Poelman's gear list:Ron Poelman's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H2 Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Sony SLT-A57 NEX5R A3000 +26 more
Paul Barnard
Paul Barnard Veteran Member • Posts: 3,500
Re: Automatic focus stacking with Sony - It can be done (software inside)

binarycamera wrote: