Should every photographer try shooting film at least once in their life?

Started 1 month ago | Discussions
perfectionist007 Forum Member • Posts: 77
Should every photographer try shooting film at least once in their life?

Just thinking maybe pickup a cheap film cam.

perfectionist007's gear list:perfectionist007's gear list
Fujifilm X-E1 Sigma sd Quattro
PhilDunn
PhilDunn Contributing Member • Posts: 659
Re: Should every photographer try shooting film at least once in their life?

perfectionist007 wrote:

Should? No.

I'm a film veteran, who also used to do his own darkroom printing back in the film only days, and I don't recommend anyone shoot film beyond curiosity about the experience. You get much better quality from digital and you save a lot of time and money. For example, a 1" sensor camera, like the Sony RX100 series, puts out superior quality than 35mm film. That said, shooting film in large format (8x10) will still yield the best *single shot* image quality in photography.

Now if you realize what you are getting into and are not expecting superior quality, except for the exception I mentioned, then have at it if you are curious. I just wouldn't spend too much on a camera. What do you plan on doing with the exposed film? Lab prints, lab or home scanning?

rurikw Senior Member • Posts: 1,594
No

but if you are interested why not. I dream about 6x6 b&w slides.

rurikw's gear list:rurikw's gear list
Nikon Coolpix 5000 Sony Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Sigma DP1 Merrill Sigma DP2 Merrill Sigma DP3 Merrill +26 more
mamallama
mamallama Forum Pro • Posts: 53,227

The answer is the same as for should every driver try driving a stick shift at least once in their life.

I think not. Only those who are curious.

mamallama's gear list:mamallama's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX85 +1 more
Dan Marchant Senior Member • Posts: 2,888
No

Unless you want to learn how to develop film.