Just bought a Nikon D3400 - what settings should I begin with?

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
Cheaptoad Forum Member • Posts: 67
Just bought a Nikon D3400 - what settings should I begin with?

I'm just starting out after many years.  Someone suggested to start use (A)uto and someone else suggested (P)rogram.

Nikon D3400
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
FingerPainter Senior Member • Posts: 6,653
Re: Just bought a Nikon D3400 - what settings should I begin with?

There is no one best mode dial setting for all beginners.

Use AUTO if you don't want to think and are happy to let the camera make the choices. Or use it to let the camera make the choices, and then take note of what choices it made and try to figure out why it made them. In Auto mode you are restricted from changing many of the camera's settings yourself.

Use Scene modes instead of Auto to indicate to the camera the type of scene you are shooting. This means the camera doesn't have to make an educated guess about the type of scene there is.

Use the Guide mode, for a guided way of learning to use various controls and perform various actions.