Sony A7III Wedding photography advice

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
NoNayNever New Member • Posts: 12
Sony A7III Wedding photography advice

Hi everyone,

First of all I'm brand new to Sony gear. I have agreed to be the photographer at the wedding of my wife's friend in 9 months time. I'm mainly a landscape photographer and it's going to be my first wedding shoot, as well as using a new brand in Sony (no pressure, then!)

So I'll get to my point. Which lenses would you recommend? I'm currently waiting for delivery of the Sony A7III and at this rate the wedding will arrive before the camera. I have a budget of around £2,500 for new glass. I know I'm going to need decent low light capabilities. So far I'm thinking the 24-70 G Master and the 55 1.8 Zeiss. Once the camera arrives I imagine I'll have around 7 months to practice and hopefully give them some half decent shots (again, no pressure!)

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers!

Sony a7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
tripler6 Junior Member • Posts: 45
Re: Sony A7III Wedding photography advice

Tamron 28-75 2.8 ($1000ish)

Sony 85 1.8 ($550)

Sigma 35 1.4 for E mount ($900)

just my 0.02

BarnesPhotoInVT
BarnesPhotoInVT Regular Member • Posts: 140

24-70 GM, and 85 1.8 FE for sure.

Edit: I should note that includes lenses currently out that are available for purchase.  The Above poster noted the Tamron 28-75 2.8.  Which may well be awesome, and affordable, lighter weight and allow you to get an additional lens.  However, its not in any reviewers hands yet and hasn't even had a price released so I'm not going to include it.  In the next 9 months there very well may be even more Tamron lenses and maybe even some Sigma zooms.  Who can predict!

-- hide signature --
 BarnesPhotoInVT's gear list:BarnesPhotoInVT's gear list