LUTs for negative conversion

Started Jan 19, 2018 | Discussions
Ferguson
Ferguson Senior Member • Posts: 1,851
LUTs for negative conversion

I'm digitizing years of negatives by photographing them and then variously inverting them to positives.

The photograph aspect is nice - fast, easy; not as good perhaps as a dedicated negative scanner, but it makes up for a lot in terms of speed and file size.

I can then invert and edit in lightroom and things look somewhere between mediocre and awful.   

I can edit in photoshop, invert there and adjust (even bring back to lightroom and edit further) and it looks decent.  Sometimes.  Sometimes not so good.

So... with more and more LUT support present, e.g. in photoshop, is it possible to (a) invert in a LUT, and (b) remove the color cast in a LUT?

In particular (I'm a programmer at heart), could I write a program to generate such a LUT, and then tweak the algorithm as needed for color cast?

In particular, is the math for the LUT something deterministic?  If I had a photo of a blank frame (for color cast) and a negative, is there a simple formula for the inversion and removal of the color cast?

Or is this like asking "is there a formula for happiness"?

And/or, has anyone done this and are such LUT's available?   I found some LUT's for various effects for video, but did not see much about LUT's for still negative conversions.

Linwood

-- hide signature --

Comments welcomed on photos: http://www.captivephotons.com

Ferguson's gear list:Ferguson's gear list
Sony a7R IV Sony a9 II Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS Sony FE 85mm F1.4 GM +2 more
Sympa Senior Member • Posts: 2,573
Re: LUTs for negative conversion

http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=87681.0 seems a nice discussion of this subject.

Sympa's gear list:Sympa's gear list
Sony RX100 Sony E 30mm F3.5 Macro Sony E 50mm F1.8 OSS Sony E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3 OSS Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS +4 more
Ferguson