Darktable vs Lightroom details comparison [full size images]

Started Jan 8, 2018 | Discussions
thxbb12 Senior Member • Posts: 2,031
Darktable vs Lightroom details comparison [full size images]

In my quest of finding a Lightroom replacement, I just gave Darktable a shot without really considering it as a viable alternative.

I have to say I'm very impressed by its demosaicing of Fuji X-Trans files!

After having tried Capture One, Luminar, Iridient X-Transformer and RawTherapee, I find Darktable to give the best details and overall quality.

Here is a comparison with Lightroom of an image shot with a Fuji X-T1. I tried to somewhat mimic the Lightroom processing of the file, but since I've never used Darktable before, the output is a bit off, especially regarding the colors. I doesn't affect the quality of the details though.

The first image was developed with Lightroom 6.6.1 and the second one with Darktable 2.4.0.

What do you guys think?

-- hide signature --
 thxbb12's gear list:thxbb12's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM5 Fujifilm X-T20 Panasonic Lumix DC-GX9 Panasonic Lumix G 14mm F2.5 ASPH Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F4-5.6 R +9 more
Fujifilm X-T1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Batdude
Batdude Senior Member • Posts: 4,615
Re: Darktable vs Lightroom details comparison [full size images]

Personally, I like the first one much better. I like that blueish tone contrast. Very nice.

Batdude's gear list:Batdude's gear list
Fujifilm X10 Nikon D4 Fujifilm X-E1 Fujifilm X-T1 Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D +8 more
sensorless Regular Member • Posts: 178

The detail level remind me of PhotoNinja Converter I used to own. Really impressive in detail production though it's not very intuitive in layout. Features and slides are hidden miles away. Also speed is ok but nothing to write home about.

OP thxbb12 Senior Member • Posts: 2,031

Batdude wrote: