Best m43 camera for long exposures

Started Dec 18, 2017 | Discussions
Birdingbilly Regular Member • Posts: 188
Best m43 camera for long exposures

I am new to m43 photography having made the decision that my Canon diet is just not working and I badly need to loose weight.  I am particularly keen on long exposure photography (say >8 second exposures).  I am particularly interested in the live bulb feature of the Olympus cameras and would like to hear from users which of the Olympus cameras that offer this facility will yield the lowest noise images with long exposures ?

Birdingbilly's gear list:Birdingbilly's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DC-G9
SteveY80 Senior Member • Posts: 1,055
Re: Best m43 camera for long exposures

Just avoid cameras with Panasonic's 16mp sensor (including the original E-M1) - the long exposure noise they produce is appalling.

SteveY80's gear list:SteveY80's gear list
Nikon 1 J1 Fujifilm X-M1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Sony a77 II +1 more
OP Birdingbilly Regular Member • Posts: 188

Thanks - so the current 1, 5 & 10 are all ok then ?

Panasonic Lumix DC-G9
SteveY80 Senior Member • Posts: 1,055

Birdingbilly wrote:

Thanks - so the current 1, 5 & 10 are all ok then ?

As far as I've seen, all the ones with Sony sensors are fine and there isn't a huge difference between them.

SteveY80's gear list:SteveY80's gear list
Nikon 1 J1 Fujifilm X-M1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 Sony a77 II +1 more

Thanks - are all the current Oly cameras capable of long exposures with the electronic shutter i.e can you use the high resolution mode ?

Panasonic Lumix DC-G9
Barry Stewart
Barry Stewart Veteran Member • Posts: 8,896

SteveY80 wrote:

Just avoid cameras with Panasonic's 16mp sensor (including the original E-M1) - the long exposure noise they produce is appalling.

I see "True Pic VII" as the sensor for the EM-1 Mk l and the EM-5 Mk ll.

-- hide signature --

Barry

Barry Stewart's gear list:Barry Stewart's gear list