Best practices with Technicolor Cinestyle Profile and S-Curve LUT

Started Nov 11, 2017 | Discussions
DTPix Junior Member • Posts: 34
Best practices with Technicolor Cinestyle Profile and S-Curve LUT

Hello,

First post in this sub-forum.

I've installed the Technicolor Cinestyle Profile on my Canon DSLR.

http://www.technicolor.com/en/solutions-services/cinestyle

And, after much hunting, I found the "CineStyle S-Curve" LUT in .cube format to use in Davinci Resolve.

After filming with this profile and applying the lut in Resolve, I'm very impressed with the resulting footage.  Having also made the filming tweaks to favor a cinematic look, it does have a nice film-ish sheen to it.

But - being a film-making newbie, I don't know if I'm done there.

What might a film pro do next?

I've watched lots of videos about post processing - color matching, grading, effects, etc., but they generally don't start with the Cinestyle profile.  And instructional videos I can find about using the profile generally don't then go into what to do after applying the S-Curve.  Or they describe other ways to correct without the S-Curve.  I guess I'm wondering if the Cinestyle system, when the S-Curve is employed, is supposed to do it all, or is it just a nice clear baseline to start from?

For example, I noticed that correcting white balance in Resolve, in a node after the LUT node, made a difference that my eye likes.

I realize this is a very general, vague question.  The lazy-bones in me wants someone to answer "Every pro knows that when using Cinestyle, then you apply x, y and z, and bingo, top quality result."  Since that's pretty unlikely, any helpful guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Andrew S10 Senior Member • Posts: 1,688
Re: Best practices with Technicolor Cinestyle Profile and S-Curve LUT