FF + mFT: A 5 Year Summary

Started Oct 19, 2017 | Discussions
MEDISN
MEDISN Contributing Member • Posts: 768
FF + mFT: A 5 Year Summary

I’m a hobbyist going on 30 years in photography (the last 10 seriously).  In 2012, I purchased the new Canon 5DmkIII as a workhorse/portrait/low-light camera, in addition to the new OM-D E-M5 for travel/family/vacation/fun, and to backup the Canon with different focal lengths while shooting in good light. That was the plan anyway.

After 5-years using both camera systems, I mined my Lightroom statistics/keywords in anticipation of upgrading either or both systems. My primary interest was determining how I was using each camera. If you are a Lightroom user, this is a really fun way to look at how you shoot: https://www.lightroomdashboard.com

This is in no way scientific, simply observations. Some I expected to find, some surprised me.

Lightroom statistics and keyword summaries from 2012 - 2017

Overall the E-M5 saw more use – a direct result of being carried more often.  Keeper rate was similar for both cameras.  Keeper Rate was number of photos retained in Lightroom catalog divided by total shutter actuations.  I rate each photo, 1 being junk (usually deleted), 2 usable but flawed, 3 average, 4 great, 5 excellent.  Over the 5-year period, slightly more 4- and 5-star photos for the E-M5 but not a significant difference in my mind.

Portraits

Clearly, I favored FF for portrait use (one of the reasons I purchased).  In fact, I was surprised to see almost 30% of the portraits in my catalog came from the Olympus.  If we factor in geography (map module), most of the Olympus portraits originated some distance from home, whereas Canon portraits were within a 10-mile radius of where I live.  More often than not "kids" keyword appeared in E-M5 portraits.

Landscapes