Sony A7 or A7II for Street Photography

Started 2 months ago | Discussions
ktmei Regular Member • Posts: 390
Sony A7 or A7II for Street Photography

Might switch over to Sony A7 Series. I'm not a professional and I mainly do street photography in NYC. I also do occasional portraits and long exposures as well. Would the Sony A7 be a good choice for nothing extreme (sports, etc) and be good for a stills camera? Or is the 5-axis IBIS a good enough justification for paying about $500+ for the A7II? Low-light performance does not matter too much for me but there are times where I just happen to take pictures during the evening or in conditions where there is no ample light.

Thanks.

ktmei's gear list:ktmei's gear list
Fujifilm X100T Leica T Leica Summicron-T 23mm f/2 ASPH Apple iPhone 7
Sony Alpha a7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Mick Porter Regular Member • Posts: 191
Re: Sony A7 or A7II for Street Photography

ktmei wrote:

Might switch over to Sony A7 Series. I'm not a professional and I mainly do street photography in NYC. I also do occasional portraits and long exposures as well. Would the Sony A7 be a good choice for nothing extreme (sports, etc) and be good for a stills camera? Or is the 5-axis IBIS a good enough justification for paying about $500+ for the A7II? Low-light performance does not matter too much for me but there are times where I just happen to take pictures during the evening or in conditions where there is no ample light.

Thanks.

The autofocus on the A7II is way better than the A7, and the IBIS is really useful. Another difference is the sensor reflections in A7 can be pretty bad (manifesting as green blobs), but if the pictures aren't critical that's probably not an issue for you.

Mick Porter's gear list:Mick Porter's gear list
Sony Alpha a7 II Sony Alpha a7R II Sony FE 55mm F1.8 Sony Vario-Tessar T* FE 16-35mm F4 ZA OSS Sony FE 28mm F2 +2 more
OP ktmei Regular Member • Posts: 390