"New" hotshoe mounting for Red Dot Sight

Started Jul 8, 2017 | Discussions
Hatstand Senior Member • Posts: 1,619
"New" hotshoe mounting for Red Dot Sight

There have been many discussions on the use of Red Dot Sights here in the past, so I thought I'd share this...

The short version:

I came across THIS hotshoe mounting the other day, for Red Dot Sights.
Maybe it's old news, but personally I'd never seen this design before.
But anyway - as a long-time RDS user, I decided it was worth a try.

It duly arrived, I've been trying it out, and my verdict is:
Despite several shortcomings...
...I consider it the best currently-available mounting!

The long version:

My RDS usage
I've been using Red Dot Sights for airshow photography for many years now. I use one in place of a viewfinder, so I can watch the airshow with both eyes and a full field of view, while still taking photos. I hold the camera out, elbows tucked in and strap gently pulled taut against the back of my neck, to make a "tension tripod" for stability. I track planes using the red dot sight, as easy as pointing my finger. I use quick glances at the rear screen to check zoom.

When calibrating, I align the sight to a very distant object so it points pretty much parallel to the lens axis. This means it is always pointing at a spot a few inches above the target, regardless of distance. That might matter for insects and small birds... but a few inches too high on an object the size of a plane is of no consequence!

My choice of RDS type
Red dot sights are easy to buy, and there are many designs to choose from - you can get them from the likes of Amazon, or any airgun shop.