Lightroom poor performance on Windows 10

Started May 17, 2017 | Discussions
earthisle
earthisle Regular Member • Posts: 169
Lightroom poor performance on Windows 10

I've been using a Macbook Pro Retina Mid 2012 for Lightroom for a couple years and it works fine even off a USB 3.0 drive. I have recently bought a used Dell Precision T3500 with Xeon W3520 running Win 10 which has about the same computing power. I've tried running Lightroom on it and it's painfully slow. Every slider movement takes seconds to process. I've tried putting the raw files on both the SSD boot drive and HDD storage drive and it makes no difference. I've also tried a Lenovo S230U notebook with a dual core i7 running Win 10 and it's just as slow.

Fixes I've tried to no avail:
Disable graphics acceleration
Turn off XMP sidecar files
Disable antivirus scanning of LR catalog folder

The poor performance seems restricted to Windows 10. Has anybody experienced this? Is there a fix?

RealCereal Contributing Member • Posts: 538
Re: Lightroom poor performance on Windows 10

earthisle wrote:

I've been using a Macbook Pro Retina Mid 2012 for Lightroom for a couple years and it works fine even off a USB 3.0 drive. I have recently bought a used Dell Precision T3500 with Xeon W3520 running Win 10 which has about the same computing power. I've tried running Lightroom on it and it's painfully slow. Every slider movement takes seconds to process. I've tried putting the raw files on both the SSD boot drive and HDD storage drive and it makes no difference. I've also tried a Lenovo S230U notebook with a dual core i7 running Win 10 and it's just as slow.

The poor performance seems restricted to Windows 10. Has anybody experienced this? Is there a fix?

I think you should enable graphics acceleration as it does help. Using on my laptop now the edits are in real time

RealCereal's gear list:RealCereal's gear list