Epson Stylus Pro 9800

Started Mar 25, 2017 | Questions
mfashbaugh New Member • Posts: 2
Epson Stylus Pro 9800

Hello! I am wanting to invest in a large format printer. I don't have a lot of money, but found someone selling a used 9800. The machine has printed about 300 pages and has the original head, etc. No maintenance has been performed and no parts replaced. I am aware that parts and service can be very expensive and am also aware of the ink costs. I cannot afford a brand new printer and am desperate to start making some prints. As an artist, I have been in a funk because my work is very experimental with materials and have just not been able to create anything due to lack of resources. I want to pull the trigger and just take the risk and buy this printer. The seller was asking $1,600 and I have talked him down to $1,200. I am looking for some advice on whether or not this is a good investment or if you have any alternative ideas. Please weigh in! Thank you!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
technoid Senior Member • Posts: 2,276
Re: Epson Stylus Pro 9800

mfashbaugh wrote:

Hello! I am wanting to invest in a large format printer. I don't have a lot of money, but found someone selling a used 9800. The machine has printed about 300 pages and has the original head, etc. No maintenance has been performed and no parts replaced. I am aware that parts and service can be very expensive and am also aware of the ink costs. I cannot afford a brand new printer and am desperate to start making some prints. As an artist, I have been in a funk because my work is very experimental with materials and have just not been able to create anything due to lack of resources. I want to pull the trigger and just take the risk and buy this printer. The seller was asking $1,600 and I have talked him down to $1,200. I am looking for some advice on whether or not this is a good investment or if you have any alternative ideas. Please weigh in! Thank you!