RX100 iv Macro Examples w/wo Raynox DCR-250

Started Nov 17, 2016 | Discussions
Hominid Regular Member • Posts: 160
RX100 iv Macro Examples w/wo Raynox DCR-250

A few days ago, DezM inquired about using the macro scene selection with an RX100 4/5, so I thought I'd start this thread showing a few examples. I don't use the the camera's macro option because it tends to favor a shallow depth of field, which typically isn't what I want when shooting close-up. I use A, continuous shooting (usually), manual focus with peaking color set to yellow and peaking level to mid or high. Others may have different/better settings — I'm still fairly new at this.

The first group of examples are close focusing distance but without a macro conversion lens.

This next batch was taken using a Raynox DCR-250 and Lensmate Quick change adapter kit. The subjects were about 1/4" to 1/2" long.

One problem with the Raynox DCR-250 is that it blocks some of the light from the flash. With the running crab spider mom I took a piece of aluminum foil, curving it just so, and taping it to the address post a little above the spider for more even light. All shots were handheld.

As always, I'd be glad to hear of any suggestions. I have gimpy joints so I don't use Photoshop or Lightroom, just Picassa and the standalone Nik suite for minor tweaking. No raw.

Sony RX100 Sony RX100 IV
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Digital Shutterbug Veteran Member • Posts: 3,767
Re: RX100 iv Macro Examples w/wo Raynox DCR-250

I love the rhinoceros beetle with his/her tag along passenger.

Far be it from me to give any suggestions for improvement. I wish I could duplicate your talent. Every shot is outstanding.

-- hide signature --

Steve

OP Hominid Regular Member • Posts: 160

Thanks for your very kind words, DS — luck always plays a role.

Dave

adk38 Senior Member • Posts: 1,092

Well done

adk38's gear list:adk38's gear list