night sky with nikon p900

Started Aug 18, 2016 | Questions
rrabneyjr
rrabneyjr New Member • Posts: 1
night sky with nikon p900

I am new to photography. I bought a Nikon p900. My problem is: I am unable to see the stars in the monitor or the electronic viewfinder. The stars are quite clear to the naked eye. I have tried in my suburb, at the lake, and far out of town in pitch black. If I zoom in, I can sometimes find a star only with luck. I see beautiful pictures others took of the night sky and wonder why I am unable to see it. Perhaps a setting or a few settings? Thank you in advance for your kind assistance.

Robert

rrabneyjr's gear list:rrabneyjr's gear list
Nikon Coolpix P900
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon Coolpix P900
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
chris gunn
chris gunn Veteran Member • Posts: 9,098
Re: night sky with nikon p900

rrabneyjr wrote:

I am new to photography. I bought a Nikon p900. My problem is: I am unable to see the stars in the monitor or the electronic viewfinder. The stars are quite clear to the naked eye. I have tried in my suburb, at the lake, and far out of town in pitch black. If I zoom in, I can sometimes find a star only with luck. I see beautiful pictures others took of the night sky and wonder why I am unable to see it. Perhaps a setting or a few settings? Thank you in advance for your kind assistance.

Robert

You need to aim at planets or the brightest stars to focus. Live view, and when you find the star use 10x view.

But you are actually asking about exposure. Manually set the exposure.

For example, with a wide angle lens, 25s ISO 3200 F2.8. Manually select Daylight white balance.

-- hide signature --

cheers!
Gunn
-- Get a big lens and get closer™.

rnclark Veteran Member • Posts: 3,937

rrabneyjr wrote:

Robert