Modified DA*60-250/4 on K-1

Started Jul 15, 2016 | Discussions
Greyser Veteran Member • Posts: 6,246
Modified DA*60-250/4 on K-1

A few days ago I bumped into this thread:

http://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/10-pentax-slr-lens-discussion/304092-da-60-250-mod-ff.html

DA*60-250/4 is one of my favorite lens. I'm not good at street photography, but my best shots in this category are done with this lens.

To make it short. Yesterday I have modified the lens as suggested and took a few shots today to see how it went.

The link above is quite informative. However, I'm putting some picture aid for you. If you need more details, let me know please.

Initial lens condition.

Look at the black ring flange inside K-mount bayonet behind two SDM gold contacts. That is the one causing vignetting to be removed.

Close up of the tube removed.

Remove the SGM contacts first. Then you have to unscrew only three out of four shiny screws on cylindrical side of the bayonet. Only the left screw out of two screws located next to each other shall be removed.

And another veiw from inside

The ring with light obstructive flange scraped out.

Aluminum exposed areas are painted with black Sharpie. Please note that I did not separate the flange from the tube. I kept the whole assembly glued together when removing the flange.

That's how the lens looks now

And finally wide open shot (f/4) at 60mm. No vignetting whatsoever

Strangly there is some slight vignetting at longer end wide open (250mm, f/4).

However, it is easy to remove at PP, and it is usually gone completely at f/5.6.

The bottom line: I may take it easy with D FA 70-200/2.8 for now :-).

Good luck

Greyser's gear list:Greyser's gear list
Nikon D500 Nikon D850 Sigma 24-105mm F4 DG OS HSM Sigma 500mm F4 Sport Nikon AF-S 70-200mm F2.8E FL ED VR +2 more
Pentax K-1 Pentax K-m (K2000)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
one eyed willy New Member • Posts: 4