Nikon 200-500mm autofocus issue

Started May 18, 2016 | Discussions
bminghelli New Member • Posts: 7
Nikon 200-500mm autofocus issue

I recently got the 200-500mm f5.6 lens. I'm mainly using it for pictures of my daughter's soccer team - I'm just an amateur. I knew what I was getting with this lens but the one area I'm having fairly serious issues with is the autofocus so I'm hoping others may be able to help me figure out if it's something I might be doing wrong, a defect, or just a limitation with the lens.

When I'm shooting, I'm in AF-C + d9 tracking mode. I use back-button focus, release priority. I generally always shoot wide open (5.6). I'm using the D600.

The issue I'm having is not the known issue regarding focus switching to manual that requires a firmware update to resolve. I checked my serial number to be sure. Instead, the issue I seem to have frequently is that when changing subjects, it doesn't autofocus successfully on the new subject. Sometimes releasing the back-button and pressing again will refocus correctly but it often even takes a few tries before finally getting focus.

As a simple test, I did the following just now outside in my street:

1. Focused on an object about 20' away (a bush) at 500mm
  2. Released the back button
  3. Switched to an object about 75' away (a car license plate or another bush), still at 500mm
  4. Pressed the back button to refocus on the new object

Approximately 50% of the time, it fails to focus on the second object. Like I said above, sometimes, releasing the focus button and then pressing it again will work. Other times it may take multiple attempts.

It seems to never have an issue focusing again on the 20' object. Prior to this lens, I've always used my kit 70-300mm lens and never had this issue (the exact same camera settings too). One thing I haven't tried but probably will next is to do the same test but at 300mm to see if it improves at all at shorter focal lengths.

Any thoughts/suggestions?