Pixel Binning vs. Skipping vs Oversampling

Started Nov 6, 2015 | Discussions
smorgasbord Regular Member • Posts: 261
Pixel Binning vs. Skipping vs Oversampling

Apparently, there is a bunch of confusion over the terms Pixel Binning, pixel skipping, and oversampling. Tony Northrup got it wrong, calling skipping and binning the same, which they are definitely not. So, I ended up doing a bunch of research and thought I'd share the results. I'm not an expert, so I could be wrong and welcome corrections and amplifications.

First, what makes this complicated is that sensor pixels are not the pixels with which we are used to dealing in post-production. It starts with sensor layout. Each sensor pixel (or photosite) has a Red, Green, or Blue filter over it, so it captures only the amount of light in the color frequency that the filter lets through. These colored filters are laid out in an alternating pattern, the most common being the Bayer Pattern (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bayer_filter), in which every other photosite is green (50% of the total), while every other other photosite alternates between red and blue. This is an approximation of the sensitivity of the human eye. To get from these single-color pixels to the combined RGB-pixels we all know and love requires what is called "demosaicing," which is the combination of nearby R, G, and B photosites into a single output pixel (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demosaicing). There are various algorithms for doing this.