Sony FE 16-35 reflection issue

Started May 7, 2015 | Discussions
t3cnica New Member • Posts: 7
Sony FE 16-35 reflection issue

Hi all, this is my first post here so please pardon me. Oh by the way, I am a Singaporean.

I have recently discovered a reflection issue with the FE 16-35 which I have been using for ~6 months.

This is the setup which I used for the photos below:

Sony A7R + FE 16-35

100mm Haida ND 1.8 and 0.9 slot in filters respectively

As you can see, there are words being reflected off the filter and I supposed these words came from the metal piece which surrounds the front element. I have been using the filters for more than a couple of years and even on my then-5DMK3+16-35L II, I never once have such issue.

I have had contacted Sony Singapore and they told me it was not a filter nor lens problem, more of extreme front light condition which I was shooting in. However, even without the sun in frame aka diffused light, I am still getting the reflection as seen in the second photo. I have looked into my archive and realised that a lot of photos were plagued by this issue. I strongly believe that this is a lens design issue due to the reflective surface of the metal piece surrounding the front element and I have a few other friends who are also facing the same problem.

I am wondering if any of you guys here is experiencing this problem? Or can I take the liberty to request the friendly members here to test out their FE 16-35 especially for waterscapes where this issue is especially glaring?

Will appreciate your insights and comments.

Sony a7 Sony a7R Sony Vario-Tessar T* FE 16-35mm F4 ZA OSS
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Trollmannx Senior Member • Posts: 5,466
Re: Sony FE 16-35 reflection issue

This is normal - especially at the wider settings and shooting into the sun will bring out some flare and reflexes. Recompose or live with this lens character.