DSLR vs Camcorder - Questions for film making and post production.

Started Mar 23, 2015 | Discussions
Christian0710 Junior Member • Posts: 39
DSLR vs Camcorder - Questions for film making and post production.

Hi, I’m deciding on whether to get a DSLR or camcorder on a budget for filmmaking and I have some very specific questions which came to mind after some answers to an earlier thread I began, and I’d really appreciate some help.

Here are some questions regarding DSLR’s vs. Camcorders for film and post production .

· If the goal was to make a youtube video, what would I then have to do in post production with a DSLR compared to using a camcorder? Audiosync? fileformat changing? I’m trying to get a realistic picture of how much work and time it takes to use a DSLR for making A) A simple video were I talk on camera and B) A more cinematic film in nature. I’d really appreciate some comments on this (and please keep in mind that I’m a newb, so I might not understand all the technical jargon yet)

· Are there any video formatting issues with DSLR’s? Do they shoot in a video format that is not meant for a typical internet video?

· For those using DSLRS: What is your setup with respect to Audio?

· DSLR sensors can’t track fast moving objects as well as camcorders, is there a way to work around it? is it cumbersome?

· What makes DSLR’s so awkward with respect to filmmaking compared to camcorders?

· What camcorders could you recommend for less than $1000 (I’ll get it used) if the goal is

o Some Depth of field – and ability to make the cinematic film look.

o Good low light performance and color

o Not a Monster Battery life eater

lancespring Veteran Member • Posts: 3,974
Re: DSLR vs Camcorder - Questions for film making and post production.

Cinematic look generally refers to shooting in a 24 frames per second progressive format. 24 frames per second is what cinema film cameras have traditionally used. You are badly misusing this terminology in your statements.