Sony a77II or Sony a7II Which would you have and why?

Started Jan 28, 2015 | Discussions
raypra2 New Member • Posts: 11
Sony a77II or Sony a7II Which would you have and why?

Hey everyone,

I am trying to decide between these 2 cameras. I had a Sony a580 for a few years, but someone decided they needed it, all my lens, and flash units more than I did. They broke into my van and relieved me of all said items while I was stopped and in a store.

So now I am starting over. I am not dedicated to one style of photography. Meaning I will shoot various things day or night. I am just a hobbyist. No professional here. I will have to acquire lens and all. I am not stuck on just these two options (Sony a77II / Sony a7II) but these are within my price range. Ok, maybe over my price range a little.

I know the basic specs of these two, APS-C / Full Frame, E-mount / A-mount, Mirrorless / Translucent Mirror. When all is said and done its about the image quality. I know there is a weight difference as well. To some people that is a big item. I am 50... something. Right now it is no big deal.

I am asking anyone's opinion. Especially the one's that have used these 2 cameras, what differences between these make a huge difference in choosing one over the other. What should I expect good or bad out of these 2 choices.

Thanks

Raymond

raypra2's gear list:raypra2's gear list
Sony Alpha DSLR-A580
Sony SLT-A77
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
66836 Regular Member • Posts: 175
Re: Sony a77II or Sony a7II Which would you have and why?

If you require fast AF or continuous tracking I would recommend the A77ii, with a constant Phase Detect AF module.

The on sensor Phase Detect AF of the A7ii just can't quite compare.

The 5-axis IBIS of the A7ii does sound interesting.

-- hide signature --